Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20121107-203510.jpg
You know those restaurants that everyone is always talking about? The Meatball and Wine Bar is one of them. It had been recommended so many times by both foodie friends and blogs. I had been meaning to try it for a while, but hadn’t got round to it, and then came the day I found out they sold wagyu short ribs… I left immediately to try them.
20121105-131347.jpgThe Meatball and Wine Bar is a small this restaurant in the CBD. It’s neat and not very shouty from the outside, and etched on the window is their awesome logo. It’s a fine looking place and to top it off, there is a wonderful smell that emanates from the kitchen and teases you the second your nose pokes through the door.20121107-203732.jpgThe decor features a range of meaty pictures from the AMAZING pork cuts chart (above – if anyone knows where I can buy one, please tell me!) to the bull’s blue balls on the toilet door.
20121107-203746.jpg
I sat down on the communal tables and surveyed the menu. There are all sorts available, with the obvious choice being the meatballs. However, I was there to try the ribs and a carafe of good red wine.
20121107-203829.jpgAfter a little wait, while I sipped a Mountain Goat Ale my platter of ribs came out. And what a platter it was. Presented on a slab of wood engraved with the logo was my mound of beef.
And it was good. Actually, good is an understatement. It was fantastic. Packed with flavour and nicely charred on the outside. The meat was juicy, rich and literally falling off the bone. The ribs arrived with a small pile of spinach which was just fine, but if you’re hungry I’d suggest you try some of the fantastic sides.

Rating 9/10 – Soft, tender pieces of beef heaven. Overall the Meatball and Wine Bar was fantastic, the service was incredible and the ribs divine. I didn’t get chance to eat my way through much of the menu so must head back. If you’re going to take one thing from this though it’s EAT ALL OF THE RIBS!

